National Board of Review Lauds Animated Wreck-It Ralph

19 Flares Facebook 9 Google+ 4 Twitter 6 Pin It Share 0 StumbleUpon 0 19 Flares ×

Wreck-It Ralph

Disney’s “Wreck-It Ralph” has been named Best Animated Feature of 2012 by the National Board of Review, the Board announced Thursday.

John Goodman was given the Spotlight Award for several roles, including his voice work in the animated Paranorman. (He was also recognized for his work in the live-action Argo, Flight and Trouble With the Curve.)

The National Board of Review awards are often considered the beginning of the movie awards season.

Meanwhile, Zero Dark Thirty was named the 2012 Best Film of the Year by the organization.

Zero Dark Thirty is a masterful film,” said NBR president Annie Schulhof. “Kathryn Bigelow takes the viewer inside a definitive moment of our time in a visceral and unique way. It is exciting, provocative and deeply emotional.”

Bigelow was named Best Director for her work on the film, while Jessica Chastain was named Best Actress.

The other films on the top 10 list are (in alphabetical order) Argo, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Django Unchained, Les Miserables, Lincoln, Looper, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Promised Land and Silver Linings Playbook.

For Silver Linings Playbook, Bradley Cooper won for Best Actor and David O. Russell for Best Adapted Screenplay.

Beasts of the Southern Wild earned Quvenzhané Wallis an award for Breakthrough Actress and Benh Zeitlin one for Best Directorial Debut.

The Top 5 Foreign Language Films were Barbara, The Intouchables, The Kid With a Bike, No and War Witch.

Top 5 Documentaries (In Alphabetical Order): Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry, Detropia, The Gatekeepers, The Invisible War and Only the Young.

Top 10 Independent Films (In Alphabetical Order): Arbitrage, Bernie, Compliance, End of Watch, Hello I Must Be Going, Little Birds, Moonrose Kingdom, On the Road, Quartet and Sleepwalk With Me.

Other awards given by the National Board of Review:

Best Supporting Actor: Leonardo DiCaprio, Django Unchained
Best Supporting Actress: Ann Dowd, Compliance
Best Original Screenplay: Rian Johnson, Looper
Special Achievement in Filmmaking: Ben Affleck, Argo
Breakthrough Actor: Tom Holland, The Impossible
Best Foreign Language Film: Amour
Best Documentary: Searching For Sugarman
William K. Everson Film History Award: 50 years of Bond films
Best Ensemble: Les Miserables
NBR Freedom of Expression Award: Central Park Five
NBR Freedom of Expression Award: Promised Land

A select group of knowledgeable film enthusiasts and professionals, academics, young filmmakers and students, the National Board of Review viewed over 250 films this year, including animated, studio, independent, foreign-language and documentary selections. These screenings were frequently followed by in-depth discussions with filmmakers, directors, actors, producers, and screenwriters. Voting ballots were tabulated by the accounting firm of Lutz & Carr, LLP.

The National Board of Review honors diverse members of the film community at their annual Awards Gala, which also acts as a fundraiser for student grant philanthropy. Hosted by Meredith Vieira, this year’s gala will take place January 8 at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City.

Related Posts: