Winners From The Great White North

6 Flares 6 Flares ×
Ottawa International Animation Festival (OIAF)

Ottawa Inter­na­tional Ani­ma­tion Fes­ti­val (OIAF)

The Ottawa Inter­na­tional Ani­ma­tion Fes­ti­val (OIAF) came to a close late last night, with clos­ing cer­e­monies held at the National Arts Cen­tre. This years fes­ti­val, which ran Sep­tem­ber 19th-23rd, fea­tured a spe­cial jury of chil­dren who voted on-appropriately– Best Short Ani­ma­tion Made for Chil­dren and the Best Tele­vi­sion Ani­ma­tion Made for Children.

This years fes­ti­val fea­tured sold out work­shops, packed screen­ings, and many high pro­file net­work­ing events for indus­try pro­fes­sion­als. Although atten­dance fig­ures have not been offi­cially released and final­ized, rumors hold that this year’s Fes­ti­val reached its high­est atten­dance to date. The OIAF brings over 1500 indus­try pass hold­ers from across Canada and around the world to Ottawa. Total atten­dance at the events is esti­mated at 30,000.

This years winners:

Nel­vana GRAND PRIZE for Best Inde­pen­dent Short Ani­ma­tion: Junk­yard– directed by Hisko Huls­ing, Netherlands

GRAND PRIZE for Best Ani­mated Fea­ture: Arru­gas (Wrin­kles), directed by Igna­cio Fer­reras, Spain

Walt Dis­ney GRAND PRIZE for Best Stu­dent Ani­ma­tion: I Am Tom Moody– directed by Ainslie Hen­der­son, Edin­burgh Col­lege of Art, UK

GRAND PRIZE for Best Com­mis­sioned Ani­ma­tion: Primus “Lee Van Cleef” — by Chris Smith, USA

Best Ani­ma­tion School Showreel: Supin­fo­com (France)

BEST Nar­ra­tive Short: A Morn­ing Stroll — by Grant Orchard, STUDIO AKAUSA

BEST Experimental/Abstract Ani­ma­tion: Riv­ière au Ton­nerre – directed by Pierre Hébert, Canada

Adobe Prize for BEST High School Ani­ma­tion: The Bean – by Hae Jin Jung, Gyeonggi Art High School, South Korea

Hon­ourable Mention:

La Soif Du Monde (Thirsty Frog) – by a Col­lec­tive: 12 Chil­dren, Camera-etc, Belgium

BEST Under­grad­u­ate Ani­ma­tion: Reizwäsche — by Jelena Walf & Vik­tor Stickel, Germany

BEST Grad­u­ate Ani­ma­tion: Ball­pit – directed by Kyle Mowat, Sheri­dan Col­lege, Canada

BEST Pro­mo­tional Ani­ma­tion: Red Bull ‘Music Acad­emy World Tour’ – by Pete Can­de­land, Pas­sion Pic­tures, UK

BEST Music Video: The First Time I Ran Away — by Joel Trussell, USA

BEST Tele­vi­sion Ani­ma­tion for Adults: Port­landia: Zero Rats – by Rob Shaw, USA

BEST Short Ani­ma­tion Made for Chil­dren: Beethoven’s Wig, directed by Alex Haw­ley & Denny Sil­ver­thorne, Canada

Hon­ourable Mentions:

Au Coeur de L’Hiver — directed by Isabelle Favez, Switzerland

Why do we Put up with Them? — directed by David Chai, USA

BEST Tele­vi­sion Ani­ma­tion Made for Chil­dren: Reg­u­lar Show: Eggs­cel­lent — by JC Quin­tel, Car­toon Network

Hon­ourable Mention:

Adven­ture Time: Jake vs. Me-Mow — by Pendle­ton Ward, Car­toon Net­work, USA

The National Film Board of Canada PUBLIC PRIZE: It’s Such a Beau­ti­ful Day — directed by Don Hertzfeldt, USA

Cana­dian Film Insti­tute Award for BEST Cana­dian Ani­ma­tion: Nightin­gales in Decem­ber, directed by Theodore Ushev, Canada

Hon­or­able Mentions

Ball­pit – directed by Kyle Mowat, Sheri­dan Col­lege, Canada

MacPher­son — directed by Mar­tine Char­trand, National Film Board of Canada, Canada

BEST Cana­dian Stu­dent Ani­ma­tion Award: Gum — By Noam Suss­man, Sheri­dan Col­lege, Canadaa

Hon­or­able Mentions

Ball­pit — By Kyle Mowat, Sheri­dan Col­lege, Canada

Ten­gri — By Alisi Telengut, Con­cor­dia Uni­ver­sity, Canada

Related Posts:

About Dave Koch

Editor and publisher of the Big Cartoon DataBase, Dave has been involved in cartoons since opening the Cartoon Factory animation art gallery in 1993. You may contact Dave here.

News, , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply