“Tintin” wins Producers Guild Award for animation

0 Flares Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Twitter 0 Pin It Share 0 StumbleUpon 0 Filament.io 0 Flares ×
The Adventures Of Tintin: Secret Of The Unicorn

The Adventures Of Tintin: Secret Of The Unicorn

Steven Spielberg’s “The Adventures of Tintin” was named Saturday night as the winner of the Producers Guild of America Producer of the Year Award in Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures.

Besides Spielberg, the film’s fellow producers, Peter Jackson and Kathleen Kennedy, were singled out for recognition. Although Spielberg accepted the statuette with Kennedy, Jackson was not in attendance at the 23rd annual PGA Awards gala, held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

The 3D motion-capture The Adventures of Tintin won out in the category over Cars 2 (Producer: Denise Ream), Kung Fu Panda 2 (Producer: Melissa Cobb), Puss in Boots (Producers: Joe M. Aguilar and Latifa Ouaou) and Rango (Producers: John B. Carls and Gore Verbinski).

Spielberg received the David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures as well. DreamWorks Animation head Jeffrey Katzenberg, the award’s presenter, said of Spielberg, “He’s a great storyteller. He’s maintained a deep affinity with his audiences.”

In the new category of Children’s Programs, the animated shows Dora the Explorer and SpongeBob Squarepants (both Nickelodeon) and Phineas and Ferb (Disney Channel) lost to the live-action Sesame Street (PBS). Because Children’s Programs is a new category, producers were not singled out this year.

Related Posts:

About Paul Anderson

Paul is an old-timer here at BCDB- his contributions go back to before the site! Paul is widely regarded as a Disney historian, and is also on staff at the Disney Museum in San Francisco. Paul is also a contributing historian for D23, the Disney Club. Paul has published several books and magazine articles on Disney history, too. You are welcome to drop Paul a line here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>