Scaredy Squirrel wins Canadian screenwriting award

0 Flares 0 Flares ×
Scaredy Squirrel

Scaredy Squir­rel

Noth­ing But the Tooth,” an episode of Nelvana’s “Scaredy Squir­rel” writ­ten by Dar­rin Rose, won a Cana­dian screen­writ­ing award for ani­ma­tion Mon­day evening from the Writ­ers’ Guild of Canada.

In “Noth­ing But the Tooth,” Scaredy loses a tooth and tries to dupe the Molar Owl. The episode aired in Canada and the United States last Novem­ber 4.

Scaredy Squir­rel is based on a series of books writ­ten and illus­trated by Melanie Watt and pub­lished by Kids Can Press.

Other Writ­ers’ Guild of Canada Award nom­i­nees for ani­ma­tion were the Side­kick episodes Hench­man For A Day, by Richard Clark, and Ye Olde Side­kick Vil­lage, by Dan Williams and Lienne Sawatsky; the Franklin and Friends episode “Franklin and the Creepy Clock,” by Karen Moonah; and the Kid Vs Kat episode “Hit the Road,” by Shane Simmons.

Bruce M. Smith won the Cana­dian Screen­writ­ing Award for movies and minis­eries for John A: Birth of a Coun­try, based on the first vol­ume of Richard Gwyn’s biog­ra­phy of John A. Mac­don­ald, Canada’s first prime minister.

The TV drama award was won by Larry Bam­brick for the Flash­point episode “Shock­wave.” In it, Strate­gic Response Unit offi­cers Sam, Spike and Raff are trapped in an office build­ing with nine civil­ians and a bomb.

For­mer Kids in the Hall star Mark McK­in­ney was given the WGC Showrun­ner Award to rec­og­nize his body of work and cre­ative vision.

North of 60 writer Bar­bara Samuels received the Alex Bar­ris Men­tor­ship Award for work­ing with up-and-coming writ­ers through the Cana­dian Film Cen­tre and Hum­ber College.

Other Writ­ers’ Guild of Canada Award winners:

Chil­dren and Youth: My Babysitter’s a Vam­pire, “Revamped,” by Alice Pro­danou.
Doc­u­men­tary: Wak­ing the Green Tiger, A Green Move­ment Rises in China, by Gary Mar­cuse.
TV Com­edy: Todd and the Book of Pure Evil, “A Farewell to Cur­tis’ Arm,” by Craig David Wal­lace.
Shorts and Web series: Mur­doch Mys­ter­ies: The Curse of the Lost Pharaohs, “The Van­ished Corpse,” by Patrick Tarr.
Writ­ers Block Award: Chuck Lazer.

Related Posts:

About TammiToon

TT has been with the BCDB for a long time, and is the resident Hanna-Barbera expert. Tammi loves the old show, and keeps up with the nes ones, too. You can reach her here.

News, , , ,

Leave a Reply