National Board of Review Lauds Animated Wreck-It Ralph

19 Flares 19 Flares ×
Wreck-It Ralph

Wreck-It Ralph

Disney’s “Wreck-It Ralph” has been named Best Ani­mated Fea­ture of 2012 by the National Board of Review, the Board announced Thursday.

John Good­man was given the Spot­light Award for sev­eral roles, includ­ing his voice work in the ani­mated Para­nor­man. (He was also rec­og­nized for his work in the live-action Argo, Flight and Trou­ble With the Curve.)

The National Board of Review awards are often con­sid­ered the begin­ning of the movie awards season.

Mean­while, Zero Dark Thirty was named the 2012 Best Film of the Year by the organization.

Zero Dark Thirty is a mas­ter­ful film,” said NBR pres­i­dent Annie Schul­hof. “Kathryn Bigelow takes the viewer inside a defin­i­tive moment of our time in a vis­ceral and unique way. It is excit­ing, provoca­tive and deeply emotional.”

Bigelow was named Best Direc­tor for her work on the film, while Jes­sica Chas­tain was named Best Actress.

The other films on the top 10 list are (in alpha­bet­i­cal order) Argo, Beasts of the South­ern Wild, Django Unchained, Les Mis­er­ables, Lin­coln, Looper, The Perks of Being a Wall­flower, Promised Land and Sil­ver Lin­ings Play­book.

For Sil­ver Lin­ings Play­book, Bradley Cooper won for Best Actor and David O. Rus­sell for Best Adapted Screenplay.

Beasts of the South­ern Wild earned Quven­zhané Wal­lis an award for Break­through Actress and Benh Zeitlin one for Best Direc­to­r­ial Debut.

The Top 5 For­eign Lan­guage Films were Bar­bara, The Intouch­ables, The Kid With a Bike, No and War Witch.

Top 5 Doc­u­men­taries (In Alpha­bet­i­cal Order): Ai Wei­wei: Never Sorry, Detropia, The Gate­keep­ers, The Invis­i­ble War and Only the Young.

Top 10 Inde­pen­dent Films (In Alpha­bet­i­cal Order): Arbi­trage, Bernie, Com­pli­ance, End of Watch, Hello I Must Be Going, Lit­tle Birds, Moon­rose King­dom, On the Road, Quar­tet and Sleep­walk With Me.

Other awards given by the National Board of Review:

Best Sup­port­ing Actor: Leonardo DiCaprio, Django Unchained
Best Sup­port­ing Actress: Ann Dowd, Com­pli­ance
Best Orig­i­nal Screen­play: Rian John­son, Looper
Spe­cial Achieve­ment in Film­mak­ing: Ben Affleck, Argo
Break­through Actor: Tom Hol­land, The Impos­si­ble
Best For­eign Lan­guage Film: Amour
Best Doc­u­men­tary: Search­ing For Sug­ar­man
William K. Ever­son Film His­tory Award: 50 years of Bond films
Best Ensem­ble: Les Mis­er­ables
NBR Free­dom of Expres­sion Award: Cen­tral Park Five
NBR Free­dom of Expres­sion Award: Promised Land

A select group of knowl­edge­able film enthu­si­asts and pro­fes­sion­als, aca­d­e­mics, young film­mak­ers and stu­dents, the National Board of Review viewed over 250 films this year, includ­ing ani­mated, stu­dio, inde­pen­dent, foreign-language and doc­u­men­tary selec­tions. These screen­ings were fre­quently fol­lowed by in-depth dis­cus­sions with film­mak­ers, direc­tors, actors, pro­duc­ers, and screen­writ­ers. Vot­ing bal­lots were tab­u­lated by the account­ing firm of Lutz & Carr, LLP.

The National Board of Review hon­ors diverse mem­bers of the film com­mu­nity at their annual Awards Gala, which also acts as a fundraiser for stu­dent grant phil­an­thropy. Hosted by Mered­ith Vieira, this year’s gala will take place Jan­u­ary 8 at Cipri­ani 42nd Street in New York City.

Related Posts:

About Paul Anderson

Paul is an old-timer here at BCDB- his contributions go back to before the site! Paul is widely regarded as a Disney historian, and is also on staff at the Disney Museum in San Francisco. Paul is also a contributing historian for D23, the Disney Club. Paul has published several books and magazine articles on Disney history, too. You are welcome to drop Paul a line here.

News, , , ,

Leave a Reply