AMPAS invites 13 animators to join organization

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

Oscar Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Oscar Acad­emy of Motion Pic­ture Arts and Sciences

The Acad­emy of Motion Pic­ture Arts and Sci­ences has extended invi­ta­tions to join the orga­ni­za­tion to 178 artists and exec­u­tives — includ­ing 13 ani­ma­tors — who have dis­tin­guished them­selves by their con­tri­bu­tions to the­atri­cal motion pictures.

Those who accept the invi­ta­tion will be the only addi­tions in 2011 to the ros­ter of mem­bers of the Acad­emy, which hands out the Oscars each year.

These are the ani­ma­tors invited:

Geefwee Boe­doe — Let’s Pol­lute, Mon­sters, Inc.
Alessan­dro Car­loni — How to Train Your Dragon, Over the Hedge
Syl­vain Chomet — The Illu­sion­ist, The Triplets of Belleville
Jakob Hjort Jensen — How to Train Your Dragon, Flushed Away
Bil­jana Labovic — The Cow Who Wanted to Be a Ham­burger, Idiots and Angels
Tomm Moore — The Secret of Kells, Back­wards Boy
Teddy New­ton — Day & Night, Rata­touille
Bob Peter­son — Up, Find­ing Nemo (also invited to the Writ­ers Branch)
Javier Recio Gra­cia — The Lady and the Reaper, The Miss­ing Lynx
Andrew Ruhe­mann — The Lost Thing, City Par­adise
Kristof Ser­rand — How to Train Your Dragon, Sin­bad: Leg­end of the Seven Seas
Shaun Tan — The Lost Thing, Dr. Seuss’ Hor­ton Hears a Who!
Simon Wells — Mars Needs Moms, The Prince of Egypt

Also invited were film edi­tor Dar­ren Holmes (How to Train Your Dragon, The Iron Giant) and visual effects artists Tim Alexan­der (Rango), Rob Bre­dow (Cloudy with a Chance of Meat­balls, The Polar Express), Sean Phillips (Alice in Won­der­land, The Polar Express) and Brian Van’t Hul (Coraline).

These indi­vid­u­als are among the best film­mak­ers work­ing in the indus­try today,” said Acad­emy pres­i­dent Tom Sherak. “Their tal­ent and cre­ativ­ity have enter­tained movie­go­ers around the world, and I wel­come each of them to our ranks.”

The Academy’s mem­ber­ship poli­cies would have allowed a max­i­mum of 211 new mem­bers in 2011, but, as in other recent years, sev­eral branch com­mit­tees endorsed fewer can­di­dates than were pro­posed to them. Vot­ing mem­ber­ship in the orga­ni­za­tion has now held steady at just under 6,000 mem­bers since 2003.

In an unprece­dented ges­ture, the list of new mem­bers includes doc­u­men­tary film­maker Tim Het­her­ing­ton, who was killed in action in Libya in April. Het­her­ing­ton had been a 2010 nom­i­nee for his film Restrepo, but he died prior to the Academy’s spring meet­ings to select new mem­bers. The Doc­u­men­tary Branch pro­posed that Hetherington’s name be included among the year’s invi­tees. The gov­er­nors agreed.

Indi­vid­u­als invited to join mul­ti­ple branches must select one branch upon accept­ing membership.

New mem­bers will be wel­comed into the Acad­emy at an invitation-only recep­tion in September.

Related Posts:

About Ethan Minovitz

A longtime contributor top BCDB, Ethan has become our resident research expert. Turned loose inside a database, there is nothing Ethan cannot find. Resident of the Great Northwest, Ethan is fiercely proud of his native Canada. Ethan is a professional researcher in his real life in Vancouver, BC. Ethan would love to hear from you- send a note here.


Leave a Reply